Theory Test

The UK car theory test costs £23 and there is no limit as to how many attempts you

can have at it.  The test comprises two separate tests and you have to pass both

parts to pass the theory test.  The first part is a multiple choice quiz, the second

part is a hazard awareness test.


You need a UK driving licence to apply for the theory test.  You can apply for a

licence from your 16th birthday.  You can take a theory test from your 17th birthday

or from your 16th birthday if you get, or have applied for, the enhanced rate of the

mobility component of Personal Independence Payment (PIP).

Multiple Choice Test

The multiple choice test lasts for 57 minutes (more time can be requested if you have special needs, for example if you are autistic, and you may request aids such as a monitor cover so that you may more easily read the words off the screen or headphones if you prefer to have the questions spoken to you).  For a full list of aids available for different disabilities please visit the theory test section of the website.

You do not need to take the car theory test if you are upgrading your licence from an automatic to a manual or if you have already passed the category B1 car theory test, however you will need to take the car theory test to upgrade your licence from a moped or motorcycle licence.


You will have to answer 50 multiple choice questions in this time.  The pass mark is 43.  Some of the questions will be on a case study.  You will be shown a short video clip about a real life driving situation which you may come across and you will have to answer 5 multiple choice questions relating to this case study.


Please read the questions carefully, you can go back at any time to review and change your answers.  You can also flag answers which you are not sure about to return to them at the end of the test.  You will be allowed a 3 minute break after the multiple choice part before starting your hazard perception test.



Hazard Perception Test


Before you start the hazard perception test, you’ll be shown a video about how it works.  You’ll then watch 14 video clips. The clips feature everyday road scenes and will contain at least one developing hazard - but one of the clips features 2 developing hazards.


You get points for spotting the developing hazards as soon as they start to happen.

What a developing hazard is.  A developing hazard is something that would cause you to take action, like changing speed or direction. For example, a car is parked at the side of the road and isn’t doing anything. It wouldn’t cause you to take action, so it’s not a developing hazard.  When you get closer, the car’s right-hand indicator starts to flash and it starts to move away. You’d need to slow down, so it’s now a developing hazard.

How the scoring works.  You can score up to 5 points for each developing hazard.

To get a high score, click the mouse as soon as you see the hazard starting to develop.  You don’t lose points if you click and get it wrong. However, you won’t score anything if you click continuously or in a pattern.  You only get one attempt at each clip. You can’t review or change your responses.  To pass you need to score 47 points from a possible 75.